Serving all the communities of the Buckeye Lake Region

Time to vote for Soil & Water Supervisors in Licking County

NEWARK – Landowners and residents can vote for the Soil & Water Conservation Board of Supervisors now through November 7, 2018.

Two supervisors will be elected to a three-year term beginning on January 1, 2019.  Candidates are Seth Dobbelaer, Dee Hammel and Ronald E. Thompson.

The five-member Board of Supervisors represents our county’s soil conservation and water conservation needs in rural, suburban and urban settings, on farmland and in our backyards and public lands.  The Supervisors voluntarily work with community members and organizations to encourage wise use of our land and water.

Landowners and residents of Licking County can vote for Supervisors three ways:

  • Via absentee ballot until 3 p.m. on Wednesday, November 7, 2018, at the Licking Soil & Water office;
  • 2 Via absentee ballot by mail; and
  • From 5:30-6:30 p.m., on Wednesday, November 7, immediately prior to the Licking Soil & Water Annual Banquet at The Grove by the River, 840 Hollander Street, Newark.

Enabled under Ohio Revised Code 940, soil and water conservation districts are political subdivisions of the State of Ohio organized along county boundaries.  Licking Soil & Water receives non-mandated funding from the Licking County Board of Commissioners, local municipalities and from the state as match funding.  Licking Soil & Water’s mission is to promote conservation of natural resources through local leadership, education and technical assistance.

For more information about the candidates and voting, contact Licking Soil & Water at or 740-670-5330.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *