Serving all the communities of the Buckeye Lake Region

ODOT checking Ohio bridges

COLUMBUS – In the wake of the tragic collapse of the I-35W Bridge in Minneapolis, Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) Director James Beasley has asked ODOT’s bridge engineers to review inspection reports on state-controlled bridges designed similarly to the failed Minnesota bridge.

Following a request by U.S. Secretary of Transportation Mary Peters for states to immediately inspect any steel under-deck truss bridges similar to the I-35W Bridge, Beasley has also offered to work with Ohio’s county and city officials who have jurisdiction over the majority of these similarly-designed bridges, to assist in their inspection efforts.

There are more than 42,000 bridges in Ohio. A review of the state’s inventory showed that 181 bridges share in the steel under deck truss bridge design. Of those 181, 12 are under ODOT’s authority. Inspectors have examined those 12 bridges within the last year. ODOT is reviewing the most recent inspections on those 12 bridges. Two of those bridges (along I-90W/I-90E in Lake County) are already under reconstruction; two others (along I-71N/I-71S in Warren County) are in design for replacement.

Although federal regulations only require bridges to be inspected every two years, Ohio law mandates that every bridge be inspected every year. For the 2008 fiscal year, ODOT has $239 million budgeted to the repair, replacement, and maintenance of bridges under ODOT’s authority. The department has also devoted $91 million to assist Ohio’s counties and cities on their bridge projects.

Locations of the 12 ODOTmaintained bridges with steel under-deck truss bridge design:

Interstate System

• I-90 Innerbelt Bridge in Cuyahoga County

• I-471 in Hamilton County

• I-71 North/I-71South in Warren County – two separate bridges in each direction

• I-90 East/I-90 West in Lake County – two separate bridges in each direction

State Highway System

• US 42, SR 2, and SR 10 in Cuyahoga County

• SR 8 in Summit County

• US 22 in FairfieldCounty • SR 124 in Washington County.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *