Serving all the communities of the Buckeye Lake Region

Council member resigns

KIRKERSVILLE – There were more changes for the Kirkersville Village Council as council member Erika Mudd resigned June 3. Mayor Terry Ashcraft said Monday that Mudd resigned because she moved from the village, which automatically disqualifies her as a council member.

“She did a real good job,” said Ashcraft. Mudd served on council since Jan. 2008. Ashcraft said any resident who is a registered voter and interested in filling the vacancy should call him at (740) 927-9050.

Kirkersville government has undergone dramatic change this year as a number of long-time officials have moved on for various reasons.

In January, council member and former Kirkersville mayor Bennie Evans, council member Jamie Cloud, and zoning chair and police photographer Mike Cloud tendered their resignations. Jamie Cloud’s first term began June 2005 and Evans’ began January 2000. Former council member Debi Seymour and resident Sharon Temple filled the council vacancies. Zoning Inspector Tom Frederick resigned Jan. 30, saying he accepted a zoning inspector’s position in Hanover, which is much closer to his home. Don Copely was appointed to take Frederick’s post.

Police Chief Jim Petrey resigned during the March 4 council meeting. Ashcraft appointed Petrey Aug. 20, 2008; Petrey replaced Acting Chief Chris Martin, who replaced former Chief Robert Chamberlain after he resigned May 14, 2008. Former Shawnee Hills Police Chief Mark Bossa accepted the Kirkersville position only days after Petrey submitted his formal resignation.

Village solicitor Deborah Kenney McBride will leave her position in July. Ashcraft said council might have a special meeting this month to discuss finding her replacement. Several attorneys sent the village resumes and Seymour, who was named council president, is also speaking with prospective applicants.

In other council news:

• The village approved a trash collection contract with Waste Management, whose bid was $13.65 per month with a $2 per month optional extra charge for those wanting a 96-gallon cart. Waste Management will collect Kirkersville residents’ trash each Thursday between 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. Waste Management underbid Rumpke of Ohio, Inc., which bid $15.95 per month and Big-O Refuse, which bid $17.85 per month.

• According to meeting minutes, a surveying company ismapping a public water line to the Flying J Travel Center. Ashcraft said the Southwest Licking Community Water and Sewer District wasn’t paying for the survey. Ashcraft said the village passed an ordinance in 2002 allowing creation of a water utility district. He appointed a committee including Seymour, Ralph McConnell, and Ron Sager to address the issue. Kenny McBride believes the village has authority to deny public water to Flying J if council so desires.

• BPA member Michelle Cloud was asked to step down from the Board of Public Affairs for missing meetings. McConnell replaced her.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *