Serving all the communities of the Buckeye Lake Region

Candidates lining up for November election

LAKE AREA – Township, school board and village office candidates face an earlier filing deadline this year.

State law was changed last year requiring all that candidates and issues be filed 90 days prior to the election. The previous deadline was 75 days before the election. The law was changed to provide more time to get ballots to voters, particularly service members, who are out of the country. Candidate petitions and issues must be filed with county boards of election by 4 p.m. on Wednesday, August 10.

Fairfield County

In the Village of Baltimore, Mayor Bob Kalish and council members Chuck Keller and Tony House are all seeking reelection.

In Liberty Township, Trustee Ivan Ety and Fiscal Officer Dan Alt’s terms are up this year and both plan to seek reelection.

Liberty Union Thurston School Board President Art Brate is undecided at this point whether to seek a sixth term. After 20 years of service, he is considering retiring from the board. Board member Judith Cosgray, who was appointed early this year to replace Joe Farmer after he was appointed to the State Board of Education, is seeking election to a full term.

In the Village of Millersport, Mayor Dean Severance is asking voters to reelect him. Council President Dave Levacy is also seeking another term. Council member Shane Wise is undecided at this point on seeking a full fouryear term.

Walnut Township Local Schools Board President David Brookover is not seeking reelection. Board members Vince Popo and Faye Whitaker are both seeking another term.

In Walnut Township, long time Trustee President Ralph Zollinger is retiring after 20+ years of service. Millersport Fire Chief Bill Yates, who lost by one vote two years ago to Trustee Sonny Dupler, is actively seeking to replace Zollinger. There are unconfirmed reports that several other trustee candidates are quietly circulating petitions. Fiscal officer Lynn Kraner is seeking a four-year term.

Licking County

Buckeye Lake Village Council members Hilde Hildebrandt, Donna Thompson, Jeryne Peterson, and Arletta “Cricket” Ruton’s terms end this year. Peterson and Ruton will seek reelection while Hildebrandt and Thompson will not.

Hebron Mayor Clifford L. Mason is seeking another term. Council members Bob Gilbert and Alayna Morris are also asking voters for new terms. There are no confirmed reports of any challengers for the three incumbents.

Lakewood School Board members Rob Large, Forrest Cooperrider, and Tim Phillips are nearing the end of their terms. Cooperrider will run again, but not Large. Phillips was appointed in early July after Joe Bowman resigned. Phillips will be running to fill the last two years of Bowman’s term. Bill Gulick is confirmed as a school board candidate. Both he and Cooperrider will be seeking four year terms.

In Licking Township, Trustee President Joe Hart is circulating a petition, but is still considering whether to file it. Fiscal officer Jill Linn did not respond to our reelection inquiries. Several residents have expressed interest in challenging her.

In Union Township, Trustee President John Slater and Fiscal Officer Amanda Griffith’s current terms end this year. Slater plans to run for another term but as of July 27 Griffith was undecided. Three-time challenger Beacon editor Charles Prince is circulating a petition for trustee. Jessica Slater, John Slater’s sister-in-law, is circulating a petition for fiscal officer.

Perry County

Big changes are coming for the Village of Thornville. Mayor Beth Patrick and council mem- bers Terry Lynn and Ron Dittoe’s terms expire, and none of the three is seeking reelection. Thornville Village Council member Brian Dunlap resigned his position July 25, and council will appoint someone to complete the final two years of his term. Anyone interested in applying for Dunlap’s position should contact the Thornville Village Office.

In Thorn Township, Trustee Dick Boring has filed for reelection. Fiscal Officer Billie Dearlove is seeking a four-year term.

County boards of election are expected to announce their lists of eligible candidates on Thursday, August 12. Voters will have the final say on Tuesday, November 8.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *