Serving all the communities of the Buckeye Lake Region

Bartholow Scholarship winners announced

BUCKEYE LAKE – Buckeye Lake for Tomorrow recently awarded Merv Bartholow Scholarships to three lake-area high school graduates. The $1,000 individual scholarships are funded by the Doris Orr Kaspar Foundation, in memory of Buckeye Lake for Tomorrow founder and civic activist Merv Bartholow. Merv worked diligently to improve water quality in the Buckeye Lake watershed and inspired many others to join the cause.

The awards were made to students who maintained an outstanding overall record during their high school years, plan to study a STEM field in college, and responded effectively in an essay about water quality issues in the Buckeye Lake watershed. The recipients were:

• Skyler Yakes of Sheridan High School who plans to study Anthropology at the University of South Carolina;

• Natalio Parker of Millersport High School who plans to study Astrophysics at the Ohio State University; and

• Shelby Graham of Lakewood High School who plans to study Biology at the University of Mount Union.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *