Serving all the communities of the Buckeye Lake Region

Baltimore adds two reserve officers to police force

BALTIMORE – Two new reserve police officers joined the Baltimore department Monday night.

Mayor Robert Kalish swore in Officers Ed Arledge and Joseph Eddy. Arledge previously served as Millersport’s part-time police chief. “I’ll steal them from anybody I cant get them,” Police Chief Michael Tussey said.

Kalish and Tussey also honored Russ Miller on his retirement from the department. He spent 16 years as a part-time officer and is believed to be the first Baltimore officer to accumulate enough time to retire with a pension. “I enjoyed it,” Miller said.

Tussey announced that the village will be working with the Fairfield County Sheriff’s Office on a new effort to protect Alzheimer’s patients. Patients that have reached the wandering stage can be given a watch size bracelet that can be electronically tracked. The tracking equipment will be provided to the village, Tussey said. The village’s investment will be limited to training officers to use the tracking equipment. Participating families will be responsible for a nominal charge.

Council members held their reorganizational meeting on January 5. Council will continue to meet at 8 p.m. on the second and fourth Mondays each month. Judy Landis will continue as council president and village representative on the fire district board. Jim Hochradel will chair the Finance Committee. Members are Tony House and Dwayne Mohler. Landis will chair the Rules Committee with Robert Hankison and Chuck Keller as members. Mohler is the Safety Committee chair. Keller and Landis are also on the committee. Tony House will chair the Service Committee. Members are Robert Hankison and Jim Hochradel.

Kalish is replacing Hochradel as chair of the Planning and Zon ing Commission. Kalish recently appointed Kyle Farmer to a six year term expiring 12/31/14. Dave Richards is vice-chair. His term expires 12/31/12. Hochradel remains on the commission. His term expires 12/31/09. Harold Kraft is a member, serving through 12/31/13. Kathy Badgeley represents the Market Street Overlay District on the commission with one year remaining on her appointment. The Commission meets at 7:30 p.m. on the second Thursday each month. Commission meetings are cancelled if there are no agenda items.

Kalish announced that the annual State of the Village Address is set for 9 a.m. on Monday, Feb. 16 in the Liberty Union High School cafeteria. A free continental breakfast is available from 8:15 to 9:00 a.m. Presenters include Kalish, Village Administrator Marsha Hall, Police Chief Michael Tussey, Liberty Union Thurston Superintendent Paul Mathews and Fiscal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *