2017-12-02 / News

Buckeye Lake area officials to take oath of office on December 28

BUCKEYE LAKE – Nearly a dozen Buckeye Lake area elected officials will take their oath of office beginning at 5:30 p.m. on Thursday, December 28, at the Village of Buckeye Lake office on Ohio 79.

Fifth District Court of Appeals Judge Craig Baldwin of Newark will administer the oath of office to Buckeye Lake Mayor-elect Peggy Wells; Buckeye Lake Village Council members-elect William French, John Geiger and Catherine Zwissler; Village of Hebron Council member-elect Clifford Mason; Lakewood School Board members-elect Jonathan Lynch and Bill Pollard; and Union Township Trustees Charles Prince and Randy Weekly. Licking Township Trustees John Holman and Dave Miller; Lakewood School Board member-elect Tara Houdeshell and Hebron Council members Jim Friend, Annelle Porter and Scott Walters have been invited. Any lake area officials needing to take their oath of office before January 1 are welcome. Please call Peggy Wells at 740-403-0791 for details.

The public is invited to meet Judge Baldwin and their local officials during a reception following the oaths. The Republican State Central Committee has endorsed Judges Craig Baldwin and Mary DeGenaro as the party’s candidates next year for six-year terms on the Ohio Supreme Court. Justices Terrence O’Donnell and William O’Neill can not seek re-election since they have reached the judicial age limit of 70.

Judge Baldwin served eight years as a Licking County Common Pleas domestic relations judge before being appointed by Governor John Kasich in 2013 to replace a retiring judge on the Cantonbased Fifth District Court of Appeals. He was elected in 2014 to finish that term. His family owned a Cranberry Bay cottage and spent many summers at Buckeye Lake.

Return to top