2010-11-06 / News

Incumbents prevail in Fairfield, Licking counties

By Charles Prince

LANCASTER – There were just two contested local races in Fairfield County.

Incumbent County Commissioners Mike Kiger easily turned back Democrat challenger George C. Hallarn by a 32,139 to 15,109 tally.

State Senator Tim Schaffer carried his home county by a 32,898 to 14,937 vote over Democrat Dennis Lupher. Schaffer will represent District 31, which includes Fairfield, Licking and Perry counties plus parts of Hocking and Pickaway counties, for another four years. District-wide, he polled 87,206 votes to 42,221 for Lupher.

Gerald L. Stebelton, who represents Fairfield County in the Ohio House, was unopposed.

Village of Millersport residents agreed to pay a bit more taxes by approving two replacement levies – 2 mills for police protection and 5 mills for road improvements. Both levies are now continuing or permanent. The vote for the police levy was 199-166 and 210-154 for the street levy.

Voters in Baltimore’s Precinct A approved a local option issue allowing the LunchBox to sell beer, wine and mixed drinks. The measure also approved Sunday sales. The vote was a close 241 to 224 margin.

Voters in all three lake area counties were on the winning side of most multi-county or statewide races. Republicans swept all state-wide races, turning out an incumbent governor, attorney general and treasurer and will replace a Democrat secretary of state who sought a higher office. Perry County voters slightly favored incumbent attorney general Richard Crodray over challenger Mike DeWine.

Perry and Hocking county voters both favored incumbent State Representative Dan Dodd over challenger Bill Hayes, but not enough to offset Hayes’winning margin in Licking County. Dodd was one of at least five Democrat incumbents in the Ohio House defeated by Republican challengers. The losses returned control of the Ohio House to Republicans. Dodd lives in Harbor Hills and was a familiar sight at lake area events. Hayes lives in Pataskala.

Licking County voters also helped oust Congressman Zack Space. Challenger Bob Gibbs outpolled Space by a 10,318 to 6,564 margin in Licking County enroute to a 105,728 to 79,261 victory district-wide.

Western Licking County voters helped Republican incumbent Pat Tiberi retain his seat in Congress with a 26,192 to 11,532 margin over challenger Paula Brooks.

Space was one of the five Democrat Congressional incumbents in Ohio defeated. They were on the losing side of the Republican’s 60+ seat pickup in the House of Representatives, giving the party their largest margin of control in more than 60 years.

In Licking County, incumbent County Commissioner Doug Smith easily turned back challenger Naomi Compton by a 34,990 to 17,847 vote.

Incumbent Democrat Judge David Branstool was reelected over Hebron Republican Robert Morris by a 35,393 to 16,045 vote. Incumbent Domestic Relations Judge Craig R. Baldwin defeaed Democrat challenger Vicky Christiansen by a 29,133 to 19,838 vote.

Return to top