New booster seat law is now in effect
NEWARK – A new booster seat law in Ohio took effect this week.
All children younger than 8 or shorter than 4 feet 9 inches tall will be required to use a booster seat while riding in a vehicle. Those violating the new law will be fined from $25.00 to $75.00. Also taking effect is the requirement for children older than 8 and younger than 15, who are not using any type of child restraint, to use the vehicle’s seat belt.
Children younger than 4 or who weigh less than 40 pounds will still be required to use an appropriate child restraint seat while riding in a vehicle.
The Ohio Department of Health (ODH) has indicated that at least 34 Ohio children between the ages of 4 and 7 died in motor vehicle crashes between 1999 and 2006, and that traffic accidents are the leading cause of death for children in this age group.
ODH also indicates that in 2007, only 18 percent of children between the ages of 4 and 8 used a booster seat.
For further information regarding the new requirements, or to schedule an appointment to have your child’s safety seat inspected by a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician please call the Licking County Health Department at 740-349- 6535.