2007-09-01 / News

Lakewood inducting first class into 'Wall of Fame'

HEBRON - The Lakewood Local School District is inducting the first class into the "Lakewood Wall of Fame" at 6:30 p.m. Friday, August 31, prior to the football game with Canal Winchester.

The Wall of Fame of Lakewood Local Schools was created to honor those individuals or groups whose actions or achievements in their chosen fields bring honor and distinction to the heritage of the "Lakewood" community. For the purposes of the Wall of Fame, "Lakewood" means all of the villages, townships, schools, and entities that were combined to create the "roots" of the Lakewood Local School District.

The class of 2007 consists of the following individuals: Donna Braig, Robin Braig, John W. Calhoun, Nancy Shrider Dix, Carrie B. Hutzell, Ila Jean Mason, Jim Mitchen, Don Thorp and Dr. Richard Walters. Attached please findbios on each individual.

The 2007 inductees, with brief bios, are:

• Donna Braig: Recognized for service and lifetime recognition. She is a 1945 Hebron High School graduate; taught for 35 years; lifetime of devotion to the Lakewood community; responsible for construction and chair of Hebron Canal Park committee, Buckeye Lake's Ryan Park, memorial at Hebron Elementary honoring seven former students who lost their lives defending our country, and Hebron Veterans Memorial Committee; organized and chaired Greater Buckeye Lake Historical Society and president of Buckeye Lake Museum; and wrote "My Buckeye Lake Story."

Nominated by Betty King, Jane Edgell and Beverly Loughman Davidson.

• Robin Braig: Recognized for Achievement. He is a 1975 LHS graduate with a BA from Marietta College and Masters in Sports Management from Ohio University; worked for the Los Angeles Dodgers, Golden State Warriors and Anheuser Busch, where he managed all sports related marketing; left Busch to work for NASCAR where he is nowp resident and CEO of Daytona International Speedway; and valuable contributor to Lakewood Athletic Boosters' auction.

Nominated by: Betty King and J-me Braig Bogden.

• John W. Calhoun: Recognized for service-posthumously.

His life centered around Lakewood for his entire career in education; worked 23 years in the district from 1959-1982 as teacher at Jacksontown, coach, bus driver, assistant principal at Hebron, principal at Jacksontown and Franklin, assistant principal at LHS, principal at Hebron, principal at LHS and superintendent of the Lakewood Local School District; pride and joy was construction of Lakewood Middle School in 1977 without additional taxpayer money; only needed one levy which was approved in his 13 years as superintendent; and honored in 1989 with the dedication of the football field as Calhoun Memorial Field.

Nominated by: Greg Calhoun.

Nancy Schrider Dix: Recognized for achievement. She is a 1964 graduate of LHS (1st class to attend all four years); 1968 graduate of Drake University with Bachelors in Health & PE; three years U.S. Army service in Germany; started competitive girls sports in Licking County; first female sports representative to Licking County League; left teaching in 1974 to take over took over WE Shrider Co. (her father's oil and gas company);member of governing board of the Ohio Oil and Gas association and 2006 inductee into Ohio Oil and Gas Association's Hall of Fame; appointed director of the Ohio Department of Commerce in 1991; appointed to the Ohio Senate in 1994 and elected later in 1994; first Republican woman elected to a leadership position in the Ohio Senate; serves on boards of Par Excellence school, Ohio Historical Society, The Works and the Licking County Foundation.

Nominated by: Jack and Marsha Justice.

Carrie B. Hutzell: Recognized for lifetime recognition and service-posthumously. She was 1907 graduate of Hebron High, taught for 46 years - Sugar Loaf (Beaver Run) School, Cunningham School (Buckeye Lake), Homer High School and 41 years at Hebron School; was principal in the 1930s; 1952 addition to Hebron School was dedicated in her honor; and left her mark on hundreds of students with her strict but fair nature

Nominated by: Donna Braig.

Ila Mason: Recognized for service and lifetime recognition. She is a 1950 Hebron HS Graduate with eight children, 14 grandchildren and fivegreat grandchildren; served 32 years as high school secretary; always courteous to all; quote from Nell Nutter, 'Kept faculty and students'; did secretarial work, acted as nurse and assistant principal, managed financial accounts, knew each student by name and did whatever needed to be done; loved graduation day-worked very hard to make sure nothing went wrong on their day; volunteers at Hospice, Hebron Elementary; active in Greater Buckeye Lake Museum as board member; member of Hebron Veterans Memorial committee; and active in Hebron Christian Church

Nominated by Donna Braig, Jane Edgell, Nell Nutter and Betty King.

Jim Mitchen: Recognized for service and lifetime recognition. He was hired to teach Special Education in 1967 at LHS; great ambassador for the district for 31 years; lifetime of devotion to the Lakewood community; coached football and golf (in 1971 Golf Team won first and only LCL title); in 1982, became principal of Lakewood Jr. High and remained there until retirement in 1998; friend and mentor to many people; taught students that they indeed have the power to change; and served community on Hebron Village Council, Harbor Hills Country Club Board of Directors, and is currently president of the board.

Nominated by Arnie Ettenhofer, Jay Gault, Lisa Tesi and Mandy Ewing.

Don Thorp: Recognized for achievement and lifetime recognition. He is a 1962 LHS graduate; outstanding LHS athlete; 1966 graduate of Miami University; teacher and athletic director; coached football, basketball and baseball; won four state championships in baseball; most wins for a baseball coach in OHSAA history; named in state poll as Coach of the Year fivetimes; Central District Coach of the Year 12 times; 80 percent winning percentage in 34 seasons; 1994 OHSBCA Hall of Fame inductee; seven state final four appearances; district champions 12 years and league champions 22 years; 16 years as basketball head coach with 197 wins, two LCL championships; LHS baseball field and Hebron street named in his honor; definingcharacteristics - humble, focused, disciplined and intelligent; student of the game- no matter what he coached; and countless hours dedicated to LHS.

Nominated by Tara McMillen.

Dr. Richard Walters: Recognized for achievement, service and lifetime recognition. He was

raised in Buckeye Lake; 1947 Hebron HS Graduate; 1952 Denison University graduate where he played football for Woody Hayes; two years in U.S. Navy; Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery; medical practice in Hebron for 43 years; LHS team physician for

for 25 years; founding member of the American Osteopathic College of Sports Medicine; firefighterand EMT in Buckeye Lake; all fivechildren are LHS graduates; daughter teaches at Jackson Elementary; and pillar in our community who has touched the lives of many.

Nominated by:Jim and Polly Mitchen and Donna Braig

Return to top